Leave a comment

Featured Blog Post #6: 30 hour famine

By Molly Boylan, junior English major

For the past 2 months, I’ve been toying with the idea of putting myself in the position of a food insecure person. Well, this past weekend, February 24- 25, I finally took the first step.

I did a 30 hour famine. Yes, you read that right. I willingly gave up food for 30 hours! My church youth group, where I volunteer, does a 30 hour famine each year to raise awareness and donations for a chosen cause. This year they were raising money to help provide aid in junction with the 410 Bridge for students in Karagoto, Kenya. It was told to me that students in the classroom normally share textbooks between 12 student. Which means not everyone is able to do their homework or study for tests because the book can’t be divided 12 ways.

So, juice and water were my 2 new best friends over  Friday and Saturday. Eating nothing for an extended amount of time was quite an experience, so I thought I would take my readers on the journey with me. The following is a video journal I kept throughout the 30 hours. Luckily, at the end of the time we were all able to eat and enjoy food again. However, the reality is that many people in NEPA don’t get that as an option.

-Enjoy! (please bear with the video, it was my first time making one)

30 Hour Famine video journal
(this will take you to Youtube to view the video)

About Lindsey Wotanis

Assistant professor of communication arts. Lover of writing, YouTube, and peanut butter.

Leave a Reply

