Leave a comment

Featured Blog Post #9: Follow me

By Mandy Scritchfield, freshman communication arts major

I have so much that I have learned from this past semester that will stick with me for the rest of my life. Throughout the semester I have done research and conducted interviews and watched my article piece together. It has been such a beautiful experience.

I have learned so much in such a small frame of time. For my individual project, I wrote my first article, ever. It was a tough experience because there is so much to be done. Gathering the information, crediting the sources, doing interviews, editing and making it all come together as one. It feels so rewarding though, and it’s only the first of many other articles to come, I’m sure.

Although the books have taught me plenty, nothing has taught me more than really getting out there and meeting people who live out what I have been researching these past few months. I had to pleasure of interviewing many helpful people, like a single foster mom, who ended up becoming my main source for my article. I never imagined that my story would come out the way that it has, but I’m so happy it did.

There were many websites that I came across during my research and though I could not make use of them all, I still found the information that I learned interesting. One provided many statistics about the foster care system (www.angelsfoster.org) and I encourage you visit the site if this topic is of interest to you.

I am very excited for our class website to come out so everyone can see all of the hard work that we have put into this since January. I may be just getting into this journalism business, but I hope that you’ll follow me and my progress throughout my next three years of college. Because this article is only the first of many others to come.

About Lindsey Wotanis

Assistant professor of communication arts. Lover of writing, YouTube, and peanut butter.

Leave a Reply

